“Can’t Look”

3

July 1, 2013 by J_R_Heaney

This poem I wrote, from the perspective of a judge, is inspired by my perception that in the criminal justice system, the amount of care given during sentencing of criminals is lacking. The decision to send someone to prison or any correctional institution is a very serious one. Regardless, I have no doubt that for judges (much like in any other job), sentencing can become routine. Overcrowding the criminal justice system also contributes to ‘casual sentencing’, as some court systems simply don’t have the time to dedicate to processing each case as thoroughly as it should be.

This poem is an attempt of mine to illustrate the cold distaste I have towards casual sentencing, which can end up sending people who are products of their difficult environments into perhaps the most difficult one of all (prison). The short structure is meant to communicate a quick, detached tone. Hopefully it emphasizes that sending anyone into a prison is never a decision that should be made lightly.

 

Can’t Look

Take a quick look.

Black, tall

Skinny, scared, shaking

Young, stunned, nervous

Jumpsuit and handcuffs; that’s enough.

Don’t know you;

If I did this would be tough.

I told you what you’ll get

And tomorrow I’ll forget.

No time to remember or waste,

My dinner’s getting cold.

3 thoughts on ““Can’t Look”

  1. Robert Johnson says:

    Short and to the point.The lines, “I told you what you’ll get // And tomorrow I’ll forget” ring sadly true.

Leave a comment